Healthcare Lens for SCONUL Seven Pillars

Michelle Dalton

2013,         Vol. 7, No. 1,         pp. 30-43
Journal of Information Literacy

Updated Seven Pillars of Information Literacy with Lenses

The SCONUL Seven Pillars of Information Literacy have been updated and expanded. The pillars are now shown in a circular diagram to demonstrate that information literacy learning is not linear.

A series of “lenses” are also being developed for different learner groups so that they can view the Pillars through their particular information literacy.

According to the SCONUL Working Group on Information Literacy, Information Literacy is an umbrella term which encompasses concepts such as digital, visual and media literacies, academic literacy, information handling, information skills, data curation and data management.

The latest updated lens is The SCONUL Seven Pillars of Information Literacy through a Digital Literacy lens.

All of the above are available at


01 - Simple lens focal length